A Setback and a Spring Walk

There have been a few frustrating mishaps in this last week, the most irritating of which was the late delivery of my beta blockers from my new pharmacy. I switched from my usual drug-store pharmacy because with mail order I’m able to save money and time by ordering a 90 day supply instead of 30 days.

The apparent downside to that is that the company doesn’t seem to care about delivering the drugs on time.

Unfortunately, my medications were delivered 3 days past when I ran out – 13 days past when I ordered them. A little frustrating, because the rep said the delivery date was within seven days.

I’ll consider this lesson learned and order my meds much earlier next time. The crappy thing was that without my beta blockers I had no protection against going into tachycardia or some other irregular heartbeat. It totally killed my workout schedule. No running for me. I went on a few light walks and hopped on my bike for a couple short workouts, but I can’t help but feel like this was a major setback.

I’m trying to put it behind me. This morning I woke up early and went on a brisk walk around my neighborhood, and breathing in the air made me feel so amazing. It was that crisp, cool, and calm morning air that only comes in the spring and summer mornings. You know what I’m talking about – the kind of air that smells slightly like blooming flowers and green grass.

And there were indeed some flowering trees on my walk!

trees1

trees2

trees 3

Honestly, this was exactly the pick-me-up I needed. I’m not normally the type of person to say, “the universe speaks to me” or anything like that. I’m not spiritual at all. But something in the air this morning just gave me an overwhelming feeling that things were going to be okay. At least for a little bit, I was mindful of that moment and I was okay.

It also reminded me that no matter how long winter lasts, spring and summer have to come eventually. Unless you’re in Siberia or something. But metaphorically speaking, blue skies and flowers arrive at least every once in a while. You’ve got to enjoy it while it lasts.

Getting caught up in the past, in regrets and coulda-shoulda-woulda won’t help. The only thing that helps is waking up to a new day and deciding to move forward no matter what happened yesterday.

If you’re suffering some set backs, I wish you the best of luck in overcoming them. I also hope that you won’t dwell on them too long, and don’t get down on yourself. Everyone falls, everyone fails. The best we can do is try to focus on moving forward with every new day.

One thought on “A Setback and a Spring Walk

  1. Hello. I’m sorry to hear you had some setbacks. The main thing is, that you have not let this stop you in your journey. Even without the medication, you continued to do some exercise – I think that’s fantastic!
    …I love going for walks in the crisp morning air. Yes, enjoy it while it lasts because summer will be here soon 🙂 Take care. Carly

    Like

Leave a Reply

