4 Ways to do Indoor Cardio

snow day
Pretty, but not runner friendly. Source

Those of us who aren’t lucky enough to live in a warm, tropical paradise often face a tricky dilemma:

  1. We want to go outside and run, bike, or play sports to get our cardio in.
  2. It’s been snowing for two days and we don’t feel like getting frostbite.
  3. We aren’t lucky enough to own in-home gym equipment, like a treadmill.

Now, you could fall prey to that little voice in the back of your head that says, “Eh, guess I’ll have to skip cardio for today. I’ll just do it when the blizzard’s over.” Trust me, I’ve fallen prey to that way of thinking before. And I still do. It’s tough to keep your routine going if you haven’t taken the time to make some backup plans!

Similarly, if you’re stuck inside your house for reasons other than weather, it can be hard to know how to get your cardio in.

Luckily, I’ve put together a list of 5 ways to get your cardio in when you’ve got nothing but a floor and some free time.

1) March or jog in place

I know I suggest this one a lot, but it’s my go-to way to get moving when I can’t go outside.

The best way to do this would be to put on your favorite upbeat playlist and just walk to the beat, adding speed as you go. Treat it as a normal run / jog, and give yourself plenty of warm up and cool down time, with stretching before and after.

Of course, you can always do like I do and walk through a few episodes of The Walking Dead. (I like to imagine that when the zombies come I’ll be fit enough to run away – with Daryl by my side, of course.)

How you get your steps in is really up to you – the important thing is that you’re moving!

2) Put on a Youtube video!

Okay, I love that Smart TVs these days can access Youtube. I’ve found so many cool videos to switch up my workout, including yoga and hip hop dancing. The cool part about this is that you get the feel of an exercise class for free – and without the pressure of keeping up if the workout is too intense.

Some of my favorite videos include this Beginner Dance Workout (about 10 minutes) which was easy but definitely got my blood pumping; and this super fun Hip Hop Abs workout (7 min). There are thousands of styles and intensities to choose from, so you’ll never run out of new routines!

3) Jump rope

Yeah, yeah, I said none of these would include gym equipment. But a simple jump rope costs one or two dollars, and you’ll really get your money’s worth.

According to the WebMD calorie counter and LiveStrong.com, jumping rope at a moderate pace for 10 minutes burns around 100 calories for someone around 130 to 150 pounds.

Of course, this one depends on your coordination. Personally, I can’t jump rope without slapping myself in the shins every few seconds. But maybe that’s just me.

crying
My jump-roping face. Source

4) Video games!

Did you ever play that game Dance Dance Revolution? It was quite a workout, wasn’t it? And you probably barely even realized it because you were so focused on the actual game. Well, if you own any of the Wii Fit games, or an old version of Dance Dance Revolution, break it out!

I used to have DDR, and my friends and I would play it for hours – much to the chagrin of my step father, whose office was just below my bedroom. I’ve since gotten rid of it. Luckily for me, Youtube has plenty of videos with the steps in them so I can play even without a mat.

If you have a Wii, there are even more options. From lightsaber fights to Wii boxing, there are lots of ways to get moving without leaving your living room.

 

So, what are some ways you’ve fit in cardio on a rainy day?

Image titled “Snow Day 2” by AwayWeGo210 on Flickr. This image is under a Creative Commons Attribution License.
Image titled “Crying” by Upsilon Andromedae. This image is under a Creative Commons Attribution License.

 

4 thoughts on “4 Ways to do Indoor Cardio

  1. I usually run (if I do), but a great indoor exercise is maybe running on the stairs (if you have any, I usually run in the apartment building) or having a footstool and just stepping on it and off. You can get a lot of sweat in it :p

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s hard to find one. The sports ones that are sturdy are usually expensive, but what I found is that the old footstool that I got from my grandma works just fine. It’s not the ebst, but it is something.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

