Songs for Inspiration (1

I’ve loved music my entire life, so much that I even composed and recorded music at one point. Like many people, I have some songs that have stuck with me and inspired me over the years. I’d like to share some of those with you, along with my favorite lines from those songs, in my “Songs for Inspiration” posts.

This first song is called “Impossible” by Lacey Sturm.

Lacey Sturm – Impossible

“I don’t run too fast, but I’m looking back and miles and miles have passed.

I can barely breathe but I’m singing out like this is nothing to me.”

This is the first song on Lacey Sturm’s debut solo album, “Life Screams.”

This song hit me so hard the very first time I heard it. I had just finished applying to graduate schools for the first time while working in several research laboratories and taking the heaviest course load of my undergrad career. I was exhausted. I didn’t think I had anything left in me to finish out the semester, and I was starting to doubt that I was able to handle grad school at all.

But even as I was feeling so worn out, I continued to bulldoze through classes and research and volunteering. I don’t know how, but I got things done, and done well.

A lot of times we can look back on the exhausting parts of life and ask, “How the HELL did I get through that?”

But somehow we do. And this song just reminds me of the pride that can come with looking back and realizing that we are way, WAY stronger than we realize.

Leave a Reply

