Red faced, fast pace

Woohoo! Today the average pace of my whole session was about a minute less than normal!

I went 2.84 miles in 47:40 minutes, for an average pace of 16’45”. 

I think there’s a couple things that helped me do this. First of all, for the first time I actually RAN at full blast for a couple intervals after warming up. I wasn’t able to sustain that for 1:30 like I normally aim for, so I tried to compensate by reducing my recovery time in between. Most of the time I let myself fully (or almost fully) recover before speeding up again. This time I started up running again before my heart rate and breathing slowed down too much.

Even when I slowed my pace to my usual jogging intensity, I wasn’t able to reach 1:30 intervals too often, which I’m okay with for now. I think I might stick to decreased recovery times and see if that helps me increase my overall endurance.

There was also one fast burst that might have factored in – when I was running along a fence, there was a huge fog that suddenly threw itself against the fence and scared the bejeezus out of me! So that’s definitely one way to get me to run faster!

655px-killer_chihuahua
If only he’d been this little guy!

Luckily I was listening to the sweet, sweet sound of Neil Degrasse Tyson on StarTalk radio, and that helped me recover pretty quickly. 🙂 If you haven’t heard his podcast about the science of exercise and nutrition, check it out! It makes me feel like I’m learning on the run.

https://play.google.com/music/m/Dk2hard65wrltuu3bntnkrnomlm?t=The_Science_of_Fitness_with_Terry_Crews_-_StarTalk_Radio

Normally I never look too strained after my runs, but this time when I got home and pulled off my hat my face was as red as a cherry! It added that extra oomph to my accomplishment knowing that I looked the part.

This givese real confidence that I can slowly increase my pace! It’s a rest day tomorrow, and then I’ll see what I can do on Thursday.

Image is creative commons, taken by David Shankbone.

https://commons.m.wikimedia.org/wiki/User:David_Shankbone

Leave a Reply

