Running away from The Walking Dead

I just wanted to share today’s triumph with you all. Today was a really long, rough day, and I’d been debating since yesterday whether I should run or not. Generally, I’m trying to run 3 or 4 times a week with rest days in between. I can’t run on Thursdays because I volunteer, and today I had a doctor’s appointment immediately after work which had me walking in my door at about 6:15 – past dark.

You wanna guess the first thing I did when I got home? Kicked off my shoes, turned on The Walking Dead, and popped a homemade soft pretzel into the oven.

Yeah, not exactly behavior in line with my goals. But you know what? I ended up having a great night anyway, because I’m learning how to be flexible with myself.

Instead of putting myself down like I used to (“Why are you so lazy? You said you were going to run!”), I was gentle with myself and acknowledged my needs. I was tired, I was hungry, and after a long day at work all I wanted to do was just zone out. So I let myself do that.

After one episode of The Walking Dead, I stopped and asked myself some questions. If you’re struggling sticking to your goals, you can ask yourself these questions too:

  1. What are my current goals, long and short term?
  2. Why did I choose those goals? What do I get when I’m working towards them? What do I get once they’re complete?
  3. Is what I’m doing this second moving me towards my goals?
  4. If not, wouldn’t I rather be doing something that moves me towards my goals?

For me, the answers were pretty simple but also pretty motivating.

  1. My current short term goal is to run at least 3 times this week, for at least 30 minutes each time. Long term, I’d like to be able to actually be able to run for that entire 30 minutes.
  2. I chose those goals so I can improve my body and develop a hobby that gives me pride. When I’m working towards  them, I get a sense of pride and accomplishment that I rarely get from other activities – this helps me stay in a good mood and keep confidence in my life and my other dreams.
  3. What I’m doing right now isn’t moving me toward my goals, but it’s okay to do it for a little while so I can rest.
  4. Instead of watching TV for the rest of the night, I’d much rather do at least one thing that moves me one step closer toward my fitness goals. Also, I want to end today having done at least one thing I’m proud of.

So, after that one episode I turned off the TV, got into multiple layers of clothes (because I’m a wimp when it comes to cold), grabbed my pepperspray and my favorite podcast, and started pounding the cement.

img_20170208_195202456
A blurry picture from my run last night..

And I am so proud of myself for doing it! To top it off, my average pace was slightly faster than in the past! So it’s a real sign that I’m able to run a tiny bit faster and longer than I used to.

So if you’re feeling stuck on the couch, do what I did and re-evaluate. And before you get caught in an endless loop of pros and cons, maybe consider the Nike slogan and JUST DO IT.

Leave a Reply

